AW5-15b Prescribed by Secretary of State Section 86.0015, Texas Election Code; SOS Advisory 2015-08 9/15

Sample Letter/Email to Accompany List of Annual ABBM Voters

The following is *suggested* wording for a letter or email that the county early voting clerk may use when sending the list of voters who have an Annual Application for a Ballot by Mail on file with the county ("List of Annual ABBM Voters") to the early voting clerk of <u>other</u> political subdivisions that are having elections and for whom the county is not serving as early voting clerk:

Dear Political Subdivision Early Voting Clerk,

Effective September 1, 2015, House Bill 1927 made significant changes to the ballot by mail process. One of the changes created a new forwarding process for Annual Applications for a Ballot by Mail. For elections in which the county is <u>not</u> serving as the early voting clerk, the county is now required to forward a list of voters who have an Annual Application for a Ballot by Mail on file with the county to the early voting clerk for the election. This list is referred to as the "List of Annual ABBM Voters."

Upon receipt of this List, you are now <u>required</u> to mail the voters on the List a ballot for your election. Be sure to check that each voter on the List is indeed registered to vote in your territory and entitled to receive a ballot from your political subdivision. For more details about this process, please see Advisory 2015-08, located on the Secretary of State's website.

NOTE: In addition to the information included on this list, we will also be forwarding you copies of the voters' Annual Application for a Ballot By Mail. Before your early voting ballot board (EVBB) begins qualifying your ballots by mail, the EVBB must be given the copies of the voters' applications for ballots by mail with the voters' carrier envelopes in order to complete their duties.

If you have any questions about this list or the information contained in the list, please contact the county elections office. Our contact information is:

Thank you,

County Early Voting Clerk